CPD23 Thing 4: Current awareness

Annie’s post: Thing 4 – Current awareness – Twitter, RSS feeds and Pushnote

I really struggle with current awareness. I feel a bit like I’m drowning in a sea of information – I just don’t have the time to read every blog, article or Twitterfeed that I think I need to keep up with the industry.

I like to think I’m information literate (I’ve been around computers my whole life) but when it comes to Twitter and RSS feeds I’m totally behind the times – I still use the basic Twitter site, for starters – and I’m feeling swamped. As Nicole says over at Odd Librarian Out, “I don’t have an information overload problem. I have a filter problem.”

Twitter

I’ve been on Twitter for a couple of years (@katy_bird), and I’m increasingly using it professionally – to follow other librarians, keep up with new developments and track livetweets of events I’m not able to attend. Our department has an account as well (guardianlibrary), so I use it in my daily work life.¬†

I also use it personally though, and I find it difficult to keep the two separate. I’m always finding new people to follow, but there are so many people tweeting it’s impossible to follow everyone, and I often feel I’m only getting half of the conversation.

RSS feeds

I’ve been meaning to set up RSS feeds for ages. At the moment I track interesting blogs and sites by subscribing for email updates, adding them to my Delicious bookmarks page or listing them on my Blogroll, but I’m guilty of tagging things and never getting round to reading them. I need a one-stop shop for everything I read regularly.

Pushnote

I use Internet Explorer at home, so I’ve not been able to try it out yet, but I’m going to take a look from work on Monday. My initial reaction is that it’s just one more platform to take up my time though!

Challenges this week:

  • Set up Twitter lists to compartmentalise professional and personal followees
  • Get to grips with either Tweetdeck or Hootsuite
  • Weed out feeds I scan over by unfollowing accounts (it’s time I culled a few z-list celebs!)
  • Set up a Google Reader¬†RSS feed to all my usual information sources
  • Take a look at Pushnote

 

2 thoughts on “CPD23 Thing 4: Current awareness

  1. Pingback: CPD23 Thing 6: Online networks | Librarian of tomorrow

  2. Pingback: CPD23 Thing 19: Bit of a breather | Librarian of tomorrow

Leave a Reply

