CPD23 Thing 14: Zotero, Mendeley and citeulike

Isla’s Thing 14 post

As usual I’m hampered by my inability to download software at work (the problem of working for a big company that thinks it can meet all your IT needs, without asking you what they are, grumble grumble*). So I’m skipping Zotero and Mendeley, and focusing on citeulike.

It’s hard to try the site out thoroughly because there isn’t an obvious application at work, but it was quick to get started and seems easy to use. It could also come in handy as a new resource for finding articles, as well as recording ones I’ve found elsewhere.

Reflections

At the moment, I don’t need a citation tool, but I’m really impressed with the ones on offer so if I need one in future (Chartership portfolio?) I’ll definitely take a closer look. Like Isla, I really wish they’d been around when I was at uni!

*I’m being unfair, but it is frustrating when you don’t have control over the tools you use!

Leave a Reply

