And she’s back: Chartership is go

My first attempt at chartering was aborted prematurely (as in, before I’d even applied) by the arrival of my rather lovely daughter, Ella. She’s seven months old now, I’m going back to work next month (whisper it, I’m still in denial) and it’s about time I focused on career type stuff again.

I’m already further on in the process this time, because I’ve enlisted a mentor, so I can’t procrastinate any more (or at least, I can, but when I do there’s someone to give me a friendly nudge in the direction of my PPDP). 

So I’ve reached stage one of the chartership process. Daunted? Oh yes. The path to chartership stretches gaping before me, threatening to swallow me whole, but one step at a time right?

As well as reading everything library-related that crosses my path, I’m trying to set myself a weekly goal. Week one: draft my CV. Both easy (I’ve only done one professional post-Masters job, ever) and difficult (because I’ve only done one professional post-Masters job, ever, I’ve never needed to update my CV).

I have a template, and a copy of my job description, but my role covers so many other tasks that it’s going to be hard to condense it into a concise, two-sides-of-A4 resume. Wish me luck, I’m going in…

4 thoughts on “And she’s back: Chartership is go

  1. Good luck! I’m interested to see you’re starting the process by writing your CV. As I’m doing Pathway 2, which takes two years, I’m leaving my CV until right at the end, in case things change in the meantime! I’d be interested to see how you find writing it…

    Also, I thought it could be an extended CV? (Not sure where I think I’ve read that, but I know for CILIP Certification, you can go up to 4 pages. Might be worth checking with your mentor/CILIP).

  2. Thanks! I thought I’d get my CV in order to take to the first meeting with my mentor, in the hope it’ll focus me on what I actually do! Once it’s done, I’ll add to / alter it as the job changes.

    Thanks for the heads up about the extended CV, it rings a bell for me too. Makes it slightly easier!

    Good luck with your chartership too! It’s good to hear from someone who’s chartering at the same time.

  3. Good luck with it all! Need to thinking about restarting Chartership myself – I registered about a year ago, got a mentor and everything, then real life got in the way and it all fell by the wayside! I’m not sure if I’m ready to pick it back up again yet, but would like to soon-ish. Will need to start completely from scratch, as in the meantime I’ve moved across the country and started a new job!

    Will be interested to see how you get on, as you said above, it’s good to hear from others who are chartering at the same time. I may keep an eye on your blog for tips 🙂

  4. Thanks! It’s a big commitment, real life definitely got in the way for me too. Good luck with yours when you decide the time’s right to start again. I’ll highlight all the pitfalls for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

