Chartership: Body of professional knowledge

Cilip: Body of Professional Knowledge

The body of professional knowledge is one of the things about Chartership that I can’t quite get my head around, a bit like the more theoretical aspects of reflective practice.

I understand the basic idea – that at the core of the information profession, there is a basic level of knowledge that is essential for any professional to have, regardless of the specifics of their role.

I understand, too, that providing a diagramatic framework helps to highlight any shortcomings in your current knowledge, and possible routes for continuing development.

What I struggle with is applying the theoretical concepts to my job. I’ve read the CILIP document, and the sections on the body of knowledge in several Chartership handbooks, but I’m not sure where to go from there.

Do I draw a diagram for the roles I perform at work, to include in my portfolio, or do I assume that reading it is enough? Any advice from chartered professionals gratefully received!

2 thoughts on “Chartership: Body of professional knowledge

  1. I’m with you on this one…I hoped that reading it and having an awareness of it for my job was enough!
    It’s hard reading blogs of people working towards Chartership as I’ve just posted mine off to CILIP, then I ‘hear’ ppl talking about things I never thought of!!!
    Just like discussing an exam paper when you all leave the room together!!!

  2. I know what you mean Paula! I’m going to try and read as many chartership blogs as possible while I’m doing it, then shut off completely once it’s submitted.
    I’m glad you agree about the body of knowledge. Good luck with chartering! Any tips you have will be very gratefully received.

Leave a Reply

