CPD23 Thing 18: Jing, screen capture and podcasts

Maria’s Thing 18 post

Jing

I love the idea of Jing, and other screen capture software – being able to record a How to… would be of huge benefit to bossy old me (and any of my colleagues who have had to refer to a seemingly endless list of bullet points I’ve written).

Directing colleagues and users to a short video would save me from running through the same processes time and again, and would be a really useful tool for marketing the department (back to advocacy!). It certainly has potential.

The unable-to-download monster has reared its head again, but yay! there’s a non-downloadable option too (thanks Maria).

Screencast-o-matic

I had a quick go of recording a How to… – how to upload the From the archive column to the website. I made a bit of a schoolboy error – the recording box wasn’t big enough so every menu selection happened off screen. I didn’t record sound either, although I don’t think I’d use sound anyway (far too camera shy!).

The recording process is fairly intuitive though, and I’d definitely consider using it for all our how to… type material, once I’ve practiced a bit more.

Podcasts

I’m not ready to record my own (and I’m not sure our users would be ready to listen to me either!) but I’m going to have a listen to the arcadia@cambridge¬†podcasts, and ask around (okay, ask Twitter) if there are other good library podcasts out there. Anyone know any?

One thought on “CPD23 Thing 18: Jing, screen capture and podcasts

  1. Pingback: CPD23 Thing 19: Bit of a breather | Librarian of tomorrow

Leave a Reply

