CPD23 Thing 19: Bit of a breather

Workman takes a break

Source: National Library of Ireland (NLI Ref.: P_WP_2946)

Jo’s Thing 19 post

I’ve been ploughing through CPD23, and the end is in sight, so it’s nice to have a break to reflect, sit down with a nice cup of tea and a biscuit and really think about what I’ve learned and how I can use it.

Things I’ve integrated already

Networks – I’m not as involved as I’d like to be but I’ve been going to more events since Thing 7 (face-to-face networks) and trying to be more involved online (Thing 6).

Google Docs, Google Calendar – I already use these at work but it was useful to consider their wider application; I’ll be using them when I get further on with Chartership.

Wikis, screen capture – I’ve been playing around with the software and once I’ve discussed it with colleagues I’ll hopefully incorporate them into the way we work.

Getting involved in events – I gave my first talk in, like, forever a few weeks ago, and while my technique definitely needs work I’m pleased to have done it.

Things I need to work on

Reflective practice – This is my main area to work on, it’s vital for Chartership but also just good practice generally. If I don’t reflect and apply what I’ve learned how will I ever progress? (That sounds a bit sinister but you know what I mean.)

Reading, reading, reading – I have the modern affliction of relying too heavily on Twitter for my professional knowledge, and applying a Twitter-like attention span to anything new. I signed up to Google Reader fully intending to check it every morning and read every new post. And then I forgot about it. As it happens Google Reader may not have been the best choice of RSS software, but I am determined to incorporate more reading time into my day (and I don’t just mean the Mail Online gossip feed – I know, I know! I hate myself but it’s horribly addictive).

Looking back over the course so far, the Things that really stand out aren’t the nifty bits of software and sites I didn’t know existed, but the ones that made me examine why I got into librarianship and where my path could go from here.

It’s reminded me why I’m passionate about my profession, and given me a new drive that was lost somewhere beneath piles of dirty nappies and the daily grind (not literally, that would be gross). So thank you CPD23ers!

Leave a Reply

