#Libday8 Day three (1 February)

Twitter on a Samsung Galaxy smartphone

Checking in with Twitter first thing

Library Day in the Life Round 8

Senior researcher, Guardian News & Media (news library)

I’ve realised some of the queries I’ve mentioned this week are vague in the extreme – I’m a bit nervous about putting too many details (names, for example) before the articles are published, not that I’ve been researching anything controversial but some journalists like to keep quiet about what they’re writing! I might come back and add links once the pieces are in print.

  • 10am: First job of the day is to listen to the morning conference – an editorial meeting open to anyone on the paper, which they stream so you can watch on your desktop. They invite guest speakers in most weeks, and today it’s Lord Hunt, chairman of the PCC, who was at Leveson yesterday.
  • 10am: A bit of multitasking! We’ve been asked for a detailed package on Google for one of the editors, by lunchtime, so we’ve all taken sections (it’s quicker to share a big job if there’s a tight deadline). Used Factiva to search US/global press as well as UK, then emailed the docs.
  • 11am: Took an email query from a journalist I did some work for last week (some writers have their favourites among us!), trying to pin down the precise role of a government advisor (there’s some confusion over whether he still is one). I hit Google for some details then the text archive, for a reliable source.
  • 12pm: Another email query, looking for profiles and background on an interview subject. Back to the text archive and Factiva!
  • 12.15pm: A face-to-face query (from the feature writer who sits behind me!), on Michael Gove and his use of the insult “Trot!” yesterday. He needs it for tomorrow’s paper so this takes priority over the previous query…
  • 12.45pm: …which I’ll get back to now! It’s turning into another day spent on Factiva. I don’t want to engulf someone with a deluge of articles, but when I’m researching for someone who is planning an interview I try to provide enough substantial previous profiles to give them more than one viewpoint and lots of ideas. This interview subject is a writer so I’m sending reviews of his books as well, several articles he’s written and any recent news so the interviewer is up-to-date.
  • 2pm: Lunch!
  • 3pm: We’ve been asked to trace a quote that is being questioned by a reader, so back to Factiva and Google.
  • 3.15pm: A bit more work on an archive blogpost for the anniversary of the Queen’s succession to the throne in 1952, writing the bones of the article and prepping some of the images in Photoshop. I’ll have to finish it off quickly on Monday morning!
  • 3.30pm: Picked up a journalist query from email, looking for statistics on mental health issues for girls and women (eating disorders, depression, self harm). I looked at a few charity websites, which led me to the Department of Health’s 2010-11 hospital episode statistics – the data will never be comprehensive because cases only get recognised when people enter the healthcare system, but it gives an idea of the gender and age ranges where it is most prevalent. They focused on eating disorders last year as one of their topics of interest, which is helpful. I found reports of recent surveys on body image and self harm on the text archive too, and comparative depression stats from the ONS Adult Psychiatric Morbidity study 2007.
  • 5.15pm: It’s been a busy day today! Just enough time to read through the draft of a From the archive blogpost a colleague has written (we try to check each other’s work because the blog doesn’t go through a subbing process before we publish).

Normally that would be me done for the week – I’ve been working three days a week since I had my son four years ago – but this Friday I’m going to news:rewired so I’ll have a day off and post a few thoughts on what I learn there over the weekend.

Read today: Hashtags for information professionals by Bethan Ruddock; Librarians as Agents of Democracy by Lauren Smith on the Walk You Home tumblr; the National Libraries Day event page; Laura’s Guide to chartership on the Dark Archive blog; the Guardian’s report on the Whoopensocker US dialects dictionary; and #libday8 posts from Nicole Brock, Lauren Smith, JoLibrariAnne and Rachel Bickley.

3 thoughts on “#Libday8 Day three (1 February)

  1. I sympathise in what you say about being vague in extreme about enquiries and cultural / confidentiality aspects. I’m just going to do one overall blog post covering the week and it is necessarily going to be incredibly cautious and generic on such things e.g. ‘answered multiple in-depth research enquiries’! As a law firm librarian I have no intention of saying what I researched or for who or why or making any form of comment on it. Aware for many other people participating there are not the same issues and am much enjoying reading their detail, but it’s inappropriate for me.

  2. I’m glad it’s not just me! We deal with some legally sensitive research but in your position you need to be even more careful I imagine. Look forward to reading your post, even if it is generic 🙂

  3. Pingback: Blogs personales sobre documentación y medios | #documedios

Leave a Reply

